MechaPot

Boiling randomness

Tune Highlight: “Mystline” from the Samurai Champloo OST

Not too much time to write with exams looming. But I just have to say that this piece does help me retain my sanity pretty much. Hip-hop piano? Aw hell yeah.

Rest in Beats, Nujabes.

4 responses to “Tune Highlight: “Mystline” from the Samurai Champloo OST

  1. zzeroparticle November 24, 2010 at 6:23 am

    Is this really classifiable as hip-hop piano? Not that I have any idea what that would sound like because I was expecting some rapping to be had in conjunction to the instrumentals.

    Anyhow, it’s pretty good towards the end once the piano pulls in a bit of a jazzy flavor to ornament that ongoing repetitive line and it’s good mood music that doesn’t quite match what I would prefer listening to if I really wanted to focus on the music alone. For those situations, I’ll take something more elaborate.

    • ottocycle November 24, 2010 at 10:14 pm

      That wasn’t much of an attempt at classification really, just that the same jazzy parts that you spoke of in the latter came across to me similarly to hip-hop rhythms, in that I thought that it wouldn’t have been out of place if rapping was used to substitute for some of the synth sounds (or the frequent piano stops even).

      I like the piece on two counts. First, I found the buildup rather interesting as the main tune starts branching out and incorporating new things while keeping a strong coherence to its foundation line. Secondly I feel it makes for some good homework music with the gentle gradients in said buildup and the subsequent lead-off at the end.

      I guess I’m a sucker for such pieces which build up via clearly defined additions to the base tune, another notable example of this which I found rather memorable is the full “Natsuzora” theme from the TokiKake OST.

  2. mshaydown November 24, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    There’s a background piano rift in there that makes me think of Valkyria Chronicles…can’t get it out of my head lol

Leave a Reply

