MechaPot

Boiling randomness

Autumn 2010 Anime Season Music Impressions

starvclean

Having tried out quite a few of the series (read: only watched the first episodes) in the Autumn 2010 anime season lineup, I thought I’d do a quick and dirty list of what I felt about their music so far.

Arakawa Under the Bridge x Bridge: Somehow liking OP2 a lot more than “Venus to Jesus” (OP1) which everyone else seems to like more, maybe it’s just me warming up to Yakushimaru’s vocal a little too slowly though. The accompanying imagery was awesome too. BGM by Yokoyama Masaru (Queen’s Blade) stays in tip-top form as per the first season. Suneohair’s ED2 > ED1 as well, upping the catchiness a fair bit in my opinion, though the live-action kind of gave me the creeps.

Super Robot Wars Original Generations – The Inspector: JAM Project’s OP never lessens on the hotbloodness, but what happened to the melody? There were flashes of the awesome they usually put out though, so looking forward to the full song. Misato Aki ED is unfortunately meh. I’m not won over by the BGM just yet as well, even though that might be Hirano Yoshihisa’s Divine Wars BGM settling in a little too comfortably in my head after all these years. Definitely looking forward to tracks like “Kenkon Itteki” and “Trombe!” in episode 37, you SRW fans know what I’m talking about. 😛

Bakuman: Kobukuro OP has nice harmonies and all, but isn’t it a little boring for a manga battle manga? Somehow I was expecting something like Cross Game‘s “Summer Rain”, as I was quite impressed by that song. BGM and ED made no impression on me, sadly.

Kami Nomi zo Shiru Sekai:
An Engrish OP which remind me of the two -ef- series so much! Sounds so ELISA, even though I have no idea who the vocalist actually is. By now I’ve stopped bothering about the lyrics and am now listening to the tune a lot more though, which is pretty much above average. Definitely nothing outstanding worth more than a few repeats though. This show has the surprise on the BGM by Matsuo Hayato though, with it picking up and grabbing my attention via good usage of tense electronica in one particular scene. The ED didn’t play during the first episode, and I couldn’t be bothered upon finding out that it’s going to be seiyuu stuff.

Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga nai: If you liked Bakemonogatari/Lucky Star BGM, you’d probably like the one for this show as well. Nothing noteworthy for Kousaki’s usual utilitarian and minimalist scoring, I guess. ED’s average Jpop, nothing much either.

Star Driver – Kagayaki no Takuto: Oh god that Aqua Timez OP sucks, I’d take listening to their Bleach stuff any day. BGM’s living up to the expectations set by the promo video I talked about as well, the music placement is fine, but the music only went on the upswing after the insert song by Tomatsu Haruka titled “Monochrome”, along with the flagship orchestral piece in the promo video. Kousaki and Takada Ryuuichi gave a good account of themselves in that insert song, complementing Tomatsu’s full voice well. Jpop ED by 9nine is catchier than Oreimo’s.

Shinryaku! Ika Musume!: I guess the OP’s meant to be cute, but it’s grating for me actually. Do not want. No one’s bothering too much with the stock BGM by Kikuya Tomoki (Hidamari Sketch) that gets the job done, and ED by Itou Kanae is pretty pedestrian as well, even with the arrangement by Kikuya and marble.

Kuragehime: Even with big names like chatmonchy and Sambomaster on the OP/ED roster, I found those two songs pretty much on the typical side of things, I didn’t like them, but no hate from me either. They’d probably grow on me in subsequent episodes. It took me a rewatch and a deliberate listening ear for me to actually take notice of Yoshimori Makoto’s (Natsume Yuujinchou) BGM score. It’s pretty much standard much standard enjoyable Yoshimori fare, though, nothing too extreme or weird like what he did in Durarara!!, which is probably for the better in a show like this?

Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru: Holy cow OP cover of Yamashita Tatsurou’s (Summer Wars‘ ED) first single by Sakamoto Maaya is so infectious in its energy I didn’t even care about its incessant repeating of the same line over and over. Round Table’s BGM score is pretty much what I expected with a repeat of the melodious tunes from their frequent collaborations with the vocalist nino. Definitely enjoyable, even though nothing really grabbed my attention like the bit from Kaminomi. The ED even manages to be fun with a polka-influenced pop-rock number that manages to shift focus away from the utter crap that is Omigawa Chiaki’s singing voice – and that’s quite the feat. I just love how the accordion becomes the refereshing factor of the song distinguishing it from the others out there.

The rest, I have not watched. Yes, even Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt.

5 responses to “Autumn 2010 Anime Season Music Impressions

  1. zzeroparticle October 18, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Going up the list, Soredemo’s OP has been my favorite of the season and the BGM is solid (pretty much in line with expectations) and I enjoyed the sense of fun that the ED brought out. But then again, I did agree with how that show has the best OP/ED/BGM combo out of all that’s airing thus far.

    Latched on the Yoshimori train pretty early in Kuragehime and the music has turned out to be solid. Does make me wonder if Brains Base has a monopoly on him or something since he seems to score a lot of their projects.

    OreImou actually reminded me more of Working!! since there are some slight ska bits scattered throughout the first episode. It’ll be interesting in the least to see how his work compares to Okabe’s.

    KamiNomi, still need to get to, but I’m glad to hear the favorable impressions float in on that front. Finally, Arakawa 2 better result in a soundtrack release. Loved the first season’s music and been eagerly awaiting any news of an OST (along with Cross Game’s. heh)

    • ottocycle October 20, 2010 at 2:30 am

      Oh yeah you saw my tweet about SoreMachi! 😀 IMO both SHAFT shows share the lead on the overall music front this season, which isn’t a bad thing at all. I definitely hope that more Shinbou shows carry on with this trend of covering old classics and using them for new shows, which AFAIK started with Maria+Holic (the ED)and now with SoreMachi.

      Yoshimori doesn’t actually come with Brains Base shows, more like as a package with Oomori Takahiro as director. They’ve collaborated like this since 2004’s Koi Kaze, and the partnership has since continued into Gakuen Alice, the 2 Natsume shows,… you know the rest.

      I won’t actually be surprised if Kousaki and Okabe actually bounce ideas off each other back at MONACA or something 😛

      I bet that you’ll immediately know what scene I talked of with Kaminomi. I hope that the non-releasing of Cross Game’s OST stays the exception as well. Also, haven’t gotten to Star Driver yet I presume? I’d rate it slightly both below SHAFT shows music-wise, if I actually need to place it.

      • zzeroparticle October 21, 2010 at 12:23 pm

        Incidentally, I did see Star Driver, and so far have enjoyed the music even if the scenes accompanying it run along the cheesy end of things. That Tomatsu song was also decent-ish. Not sure where I’d order it in terms of quality compared to the other SHAFT stuff, but there’s nothing there that I can say I dislike, so we’ll have to wait and see…

  2. Milly April 11, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    the Kami Nomi zo Shiru Sekai op sounded like Elisa because it’s actually Elisa singing there X3.
    I bought the OP single.. and god it’s so gorgeous, probably the longest OP I’ve heard but it’s so pretty!

    • ottocycle April 11, 2011 at 10:45 pm

      Now that’s interesting! I wasn’t aware of that really, since the credits would label such a prominent artist if they had her starring as the vocalist. Or at least I thought so. Thanks for the info!

      It’s 8 minutes (really long by anime OP standards) but hey it isn’t wastefully long too! I agree, the other parts not featured as the OP song proper is indeed good stuff.

      Thanks for commenting, and a warm welcome to you!

Leave a Reply

